Basket £ 0.00 (0 items)
You are here: HomeServicesIT Department Accreditation › The Standard

IT Department Accreditation

The Standard specifies a set of requirements in five key business areas.

The National Computing Centre Standard for IT Departments measures:

  1. Business management
    How well does the department manage its business resources and capacity?
  2. Business direction
    How strong is the planning and implementation of the department's business strategy?
  3. Business or service generation
    Does the department work well to promote its expertise and encourage the effective use of IT for its sponsors and customers?
  4. Delivery and operations
    How well does the department carry out its business responsibilities?
  5. Customer relationships
    Does the department work well with its sponsors and customers? How do the department's customers perceive the IT department?


The IT Department Accreditation is not a technical assessment; it is a business management tool to focus on continuous improvement. The Standard covers the rigorous business management of the IT department and stays relevant to the organisation it serves – where a specified activity is genuinely not relevant, you are not expected to do it.

Download the ITDA Flyer (1MB PDF)

Find out more about ITDA



For more information about The National Computing Centre and our services, please contact us at the details below:

Telephone: +44 (0)870 908 8767
Fax: +44 (0)870 134 0931

Click here for more contact information

TwitterFollow us on Twitter
Linked InJoin our LinkedIn Group
FBLike us on Facebook


Management Guidelines

NCC Guidelines Vol 5 No 1

more in Management Guidelines


Professional Development

Cloud Computing

more in Professional Development


Analyst Digest

September 2016 Bulletin published

more in Analyst Digest